Follow (My Book Blog) Friday & my “to read” list

This week I’m trying something new: Follow Friday, hosted by Parajunkee’s View.


To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1. Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Host { Parajunkee.com } and any one else you want to follow on the list
2. Follow our Featured Bloggers – toreadornottoread-vampangel.blogspot.com/
3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing.
4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say hi in your comments
5. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can
6. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
7. If you want to show the link list, just follow the link below the entries and copy and paste it within your post!

Happy Follow Friday!

It’s a way to look around the book blogosphere and find out what other book bloggers are reading, reviewing, and what general havoc they’re wreaking.  If you’re here through Follow Friday…hi! Leave a comment & a link so I can come visit and return the favor!

You might have noticed that I have a list of books on the right in two categories:  what I’m chewing on now, and what I plan on tackling in the near future. The lists are somewhat fluid and subject to change, but for the most part, these are the books that are occupying my time. To illustrate these lists, a picture of my nightstand, which just seems to keep sprouting books. I’m a little frightened of being smothered in my sleep by novels on the move!

In this stack, in no order at all, are The Hakawati, by Rabih Alameddine; Tongues of Serpents, by Naomi Novik; Arabian Nights; The 5 Principles: A Guide to Practical Spirituality, by Ellen Debenport; The Martian Chronicles, by Ray Bradbury; Valeria’s Last Stand, by Marc Fitten; A Darkness Forged in Fire, by Chris Evans; In The Blink of An Eye, by Wendy Corsi Staub; Vampires Don’t Sleep Alone, by Elizabeth Barrial & D.H. Altair; Fledgling, by Octavia E. Butler; Redemption in Indigo, by Karen Lord; The Magicians, by Lev Grossman; Generation Dead, by Daniel Waters; Field of Blood, by Eric Wilson.

It’s a ridiculous stack, mostly fantasy or sci-fi with a little non-fiction and mainstream fiction thrown in. It will take some time for me to read through it, but think of all the lovely reviews you have to look forward to!

Happy reading this weekend! I’ll see you again on Monday.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Reader's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Follow (My Book Blog) Friday & my “to read” list

  1. Ava says:

    Hi! This is my first time doing Follow Friday too. Have a great weekend!

  2. Larissa says:

    Hey jessica!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog =)

    I started Seers today and its pretty good so far =) I got it for review from the author, I had not heard about it before that…

    I’ll add you to my reader now too!

    see you around, have a great weekend!

  3. chelleyreads says:

    stopping by to say hi from the book hop and wishing you a wonderful weekend filled with fantastic books.

    check out our blog Michelle and Leslie’s Book Picks too if you have the time.

    -michelle

  4. Rachel Star says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog, it’s nice to meet you too 🙂
    I hope you have a great weekend!

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have a great weekend and Happy Reading! :)))

  6. Natalie says:

    I love Ray Bradbury! I hope you enjoy The Martian Chronicles! And thanks for stopping by Mindful Musings! 😀

    • Jessica says:

      Bradbury is fantastic. The Martian Chronicles are interesting to read now, considering the first of the stories is set in 1999. I have to keep reminding myself, too, that he wrote them in the late forties and early fifties. I’ve set it aside for now, to concentrate on other reading, but I’ll get back to it soon.

  7. Dropping by for follow friday! come check out my blog sometime http://readitorseeit.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

