Follow Friday & Book Blogger Hop

This is my second Follow (My Book Blog) Friday, and I discovered so many interesting blogs last week through this, that I’m participating again. It might just be a weekly thing.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1. Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Host { Parajunkee.com } and any one else you want to follow on the list
2. Follow our Featured Bloggers –http://theauthoress-amelia.blogspot.com/
3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing.
4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say hi in your comments
5. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can
6. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
7. If you want to show the link list, just follow the link below the entries and copy and paste it within your post!

And this is my first week being involved in the Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy-For-Books.com.
Book Blogger Hop

Each week, Jennifer asks a question. This week it is: Who is your favorite new-to-you author so far this year?
For me, it is Paolo Bacigalupi. His debut novel, The Windup Girl, blew me away. The few short stories I’ve read by him are equally amazing. It’s no wonder he’s won Nebula and Locus awards for his writing, and is up for a Hugo this year! He set a new standard in science fiction for me. I can’t wait to get my hands on his YA novel, Ship Breaker.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Follow Friday & Book Blogger Hop

  1. ketch1714 says:

    Hi, just blog hopping by! Happy Friday!

  2. ketch1714 says:

    Sorry – Favorite author: Gordon R. Dickson

  3. Shannon says:

    Hi Jessica, I came on the Hop! I can see already that we like many of the same books and genres 🙂

    I finally got a copy of The Windup Girl this month and I’m looking forward to reading it – I have read great things about it. I’m not much of a short story reader, but are his stories in an anthology or available online? Everyone seems very impressed by those too! 🙂

    • Jessica says:

      Bacigalupi’s anthology is called Pump Six and is in stores I believe. I haven’t gotten around to it, yet. I believe that the novella in that collection won either a Locus or a Nebula award last award season. His future dystopias are pretty grim, no where near fluffy bunnies and rainbows, but his prose is so rich that it’s amazing to read anyway.

      I’d love to know what you think of The Windup Girl when you’re finished. I’ll have to stalk your blog and keep an eye out.

      I read one of his short stories, Small Offerings, on Tor’s Website. I think to read the short stories they have there (and they have a bunch!) you need to register (or sign in, if you’re already registered).

      • Shannon says:

        I love dystopian (and post-apocalyptic) fiction, so I will have to see if I can get hold of his stories.

        Oh Tor, of course – I get their newsletter emailed to me but I don’t often have time to go through it, and I haven’t read any short stories on their website yet. I’m not so good at reading stories on computer screens – I guess I’m old fashioned 😉

  4. Just hopping by to say, hi.
    Kelly Bookend Diaries
    http://bookenddiaries.blogspot.com

  5. Christy says:

    I haven’t read most of the books you have on your site, so I look forward to branching out. Happy hopping.

    Christy
    http://www.dearestdreams.com

  6. Hi, I’ve enjoyed reading some of your previous posts. Signed up as an email subscriber.

    Have a great weekend.
    Jules
    http://onebookshy.blogspot.com

  7. Ms C says:

    thanks for the earlier book hop visit 🙂 i’ve searched through your site a little bit so far and look forward to reading your reviews. hope you have a good weekend!

  8. curlygeek04 says:

    Visiting from the Hop! I’ve been wanting to read Bacigalupi for a while, either Windup Girl or Ship Breakers. I’ll definitely try one of them! I recently started Mieville’s The City & The City and couldn’t get into it. I’m also halfway into Tongues of Serpents — how are you finding that one?

    I’m at The Book Stop, http://thebookstop.wordpress.com.

    • Jessica says:

      Bacigalupi is someone whose writing I’m going to devour. After The Windup Girl I really want to check out his anthology of short stories, Pump Six, and Ship Breaker.

      I’m loving Tongues of Serpents so far. I’m not as far into it as you are, but I like what I’ve read. I’m amazed every book at how Novik balances the language of the Napoleonic era with modern language. The speech patterns were a bit different then, but I still feel that era sink in without thinking “oh, ugh, early 19th century speech.”

      I’m told Mieville is often difficult to read. When I complained about Kraken to someone more familiar with Mieville, he was “Oh, Mieville is like that.” I’ve only read Un Lun Dun and listened to Kraken, and both were tough for me to get into. Un Lun Dun was more accessible to me, but it is also YA, so maybe that’s why.

      Sorry for the babble, and thanks for coming by!

  9. Hopping by! The Windup Girl sounds great…

    Here’s my Blogger Hop:

    http://curlupandread.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/book-blogger-hop-july-30/

  10. Missie says:

    Hey Jessica,

    I always do the hop thing, but I today I actually found your blog through a comment you made on Reading with Tequila! I enjoyed your feedback on book suggestions for new readers. Now I’m a new follower!

    I haven’t read Windup Girl yet, but I think the cover art is amazing, and it is on my very long TBR pile.

    • Jessica says:

      I felt a little guilty about the length of that comment. Apparently I’m long winded when it comes to book recommendations! I am glad it prompted you to stop by, though. Welcome to the blog!

  11. Dana says:

    Hey you, just stopping by on the hop and follow and saying hi. Have a great weekend. Happy Reading!!!
    See ya!
    Readaholics Anonymous

Leave a Reply

