Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger HopThe Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy For Books. It is a way for book bloggers and readers to connect, explore, and pretty much have a weekly book party.

Every week, Jennifer asks a question. This week, it is Do you listen to music when you read? If so, what are your favorite reading tunes?

I might listen to music while I read, but not purposefully. It’s generally just background noise. This can be interesting if I’m listening to someone like Snoop and reading something like a Regency novel. The genres of music I listen to and novels I’m reading don’t often match up. I’m just as likely to have the television tuned to a random station I’m not watching, so I can’t say that I have favorite reading tunes.

In other news – I’m adopting a kitten this weekend! I pick her up on Saturday from her foster mom. I’m hoping that I can both bond with the new member of my household and get some reading done. We’ll see how that goes. Methinks kittens and sedate activities like reading don’t generally mesh.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Reader's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Book Blogger Hop

  1. Petty Witter says:

    Joining you from over at the hop. Nice to have met you, I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog which has a great mix of book reviews.

  2. Kelli says:

    Congrats on your kitten! I hope you enjoy her. Our cat had CKS when we first got her—Crazy Kitten Syndrome. She would literally run around the house at top speed for hours every night!

    • Jessica says:

      Thank you, and thanks for stopping in! Oy. It’s been a very long time since I’ve lived with a kitten. I’d rather forgotten about the running around at top speed for hours on end. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. Just hopping by…I had to laugh about the idea of reading with a new kitten. They tend to crawl over everything, don’t they? Have fun.

    I’m here:

    http://curlupandread.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/book-blogger-hop-august-6/

    • Jessica says:

      I suspect I’m being overly ambitious, thinking I will be able to tear myself away from the cuteness long enough to get any reading done…or thinking that something as energetic as a kitten will allow me to settle down with a novel.

  4. Misha Mathew says:

    I am a new follower via the hop. Have a great weekend!

    Misha
    http://books-love-affair.blogspot.com/

  5. MJ says:

    Hopping by-great blog! My taste of music listening while reading is similar. I just put on a shuffle and go with it. But I do prefer quiet music without words, so that it isn’t distracting.

    Congrats on the new addition to your family! Kittens are so cute. They do sleep a lot so I think there will be plenty of time for reading with your new friend curled up on your lap.

    • Jessica says:

      I need the quiet, wordless music when I’m trying to read for learning purposes, or having a tough time wrapping my brain around an idea. So when I’m reading my history tomes – even the friendly ones written by Susan Wise Bauer and Joseph Elllis – I tend toward either symphonic instrumentals or the “world” music. Yani (Yanni? however his name is spelled) used to be a favorite for studying in college.

      Thank you, too, for the helpful reminder on the kitten. It’s true that while they are energy-filled, they also need to rest to build up that energy. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. grace says:

    Stopping by via the hop!

    ๐Ÿ˜€ Have a great weekend!

  7. Sarah says:

    Congrats on the new Kitty! Your musical choices while reading are really interesting!

  8. tasha says:

    Hi! I’m just stopping by from the hop! I’m hosting a SIZZLING SUMMER NIGHTS GIVEAWAY on my blog, so stop by to enter…Have a great weekend…

    ~Tasha
    http://avidbookaholic.blogspot.com
    @avidbookaholic

  9. pussreboots says:

    But kittens grow into cats and cats and reading go together purrfectly. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Friday. Come see how I listen to music when I read.

  10. Hey!
    Stopping by from The Hop! I listen to music sometimes but it’s more my background music too.
    I’m now a follower!

    If you have the time stop by my blog:
    http://scarrletreader.blogspot.com/

    Nice to meet you!

  11. Stephanie says:

    Love your Triskelion review – although it made me want Triscuts for some reason. I think I may need to download this one. Hope that you will stop by:
    Fangs, Wands and Fairy Dust
    steph@fangswandsandfairydust.com

    • Jessica says:

      Triscuts, eh? Our brains are funny things, the associations they make.

      I need to see if our local library has the second Triskellion book available. I’m on an unofficial book buying ban this month, but I want to know what happens next… arggh! Stupid living on a budget.

      Thanks for stopping in!

  12. Jo says:

    Hopping on by to say hello — I like your comment about music/reading pairings ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Just hopping by! Great Site!

    check me out at http://www.just-one-more-chapter.com

  14. Danielle says:

    Congrats on your kitten! They are a lot of fun, but your arms will probably be scratched up for a while haha. I’m just stopping by from the book hop! Have a great day!

    Danielle @ everylastpage.blogspot.com

  15. Karoline says:

    hi via the hop!!

    OMG KITTIES!!!! must post pictures!!!!!! I wanna see the cute lil furbaby! ๐Ÿ™‚

    btw, I just took out Triskellion from the library ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Jessica says:

      Haha. Thanks for the stop. ๐Ÿ˜€ I posted a few pictures of her on my twitter account from when she came out of hiding yesterday. On the right sidebar here, under “Jessica’s all a twitter” they should be the top two posts.

      I hope you enjoy the read! I’m curious to see what you think of it.

  16. Shannon says:

    *laughs* Snoop + a Regency novel – that would be interesting! I try to find music that somewhat matches the story and when I can’t I go without.

    How’s your new kitten? Do you have a name for it yet? I had a kitten once years ago that, on his first weekend in his new home, couldn’t stop climbing all over me – which was rather painful when he tried to scale my leg with his claws while I was doing the dishes!

    • Jessica says:

      I have a tendency to have the radio station set to either a generic rock station or to an R&B/Rap station, and just letting it go as background noise throughout the day. This means that last night, while letting the kitten explore without me hovering, I was reading Tongues of Serpents to a backdrop of Beyonce, LL Cool J, Snoop, Eminem, Kanye, etc. I didn’t even notice until I started singing along with one of the songs as Temeraire was getting in trouble….then the disconnect occured to me, and I had to change the station.

      The kitten discovered a precariously balanced something or other on my shelf this morning, had it fall on her, and is now under my bed and refusing to come out. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

