Friday Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger HopTime for the weekly meme: Crazy-for-Books.com‘s Book Blogger Hop. I can’t seem to help myself; I discover interesting blogs each week I participate.

For this weekend’s Hop, the question is: How many books do you have on your ‘to be read shelf’?

My answer: One shelf? I’m not that organized. I currently have 30+ books in stacks that I am, theoretically, going to get to before I move on to the unread books already shelved. I have the bad habit of picking up interesting-looking books–fiction & non-fiction–from thrift stores and yard sales and then somehow not reading them. They’re nicely filed away on the bookshelves, so I don’t know off hand how many there are, but as a guess, there’s at least a hundred such books. Hardcovers for a dollar and paperbacks for fifty cents. That’s hard for me to resist!

…I think I ought to just donate the ones in good shape the library system. Maybe they’d lead fulfilling lives there, rather than being lonely and unread at my house. Hmmm.

ETA: These are the physical books in my TBR pile. If I were to count my wishlist, that bumps the number of books I want to read to over a thousand, that I know of – my wishlist grows daily. Eep.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Reader's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Friday Book Blogger Hop

  1. Missie says:

    Hey Jessica,
    Just stopping by from the hop! Glad to hear your TBR pile is a bit more manageable than mine!

    Happy Reading,
    Missie
    The Unread Reader

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks for stopping by!

      As long as I count the books that I physically have on hand, the TBR “shelf” isn’t unmanageable. Throw in that wishlist, though, and it’s just this side of ridiculous.

  2. Elena says:

    Hi! I found you through the hop. I hope you can check out my blog sometime. Have a great day!

    -Elena
    elenasbookcafe.blogspot.com

  3. Kevin Tipple says:

    Shelf? Multiple books, shelves and boxes. My last count, in early March was over 500. One week, back in May, I received 65 books so I have no real idea now what the number is today.

    And, I am not counting!

  4. Carin B. says:

    OK…now there’s a number I can get behind! The last person I commented on only had like 30 books! How is that possible? I have over 100 paper books and 100 e-books so my TBR is outta control! As far as my virtual TBR, it’s getting closer to 300 books now. Sad! I’ll never have enough mojo to dwindle my list down to nothing!

    I will come back and comment on your Top 10 Reads. I like some of your choices, but I’ll have to think about mine! 🙂

    • Jessica says:

      I know what you mean – I’ve seen some responses that say something like “my tbr pile is at ten books” and I’m confused. I have more than that just on my nightstand. Maybe they have a stricter requirements for being in such a pile than I.

      Virtual pile – ack. I started using that wishlist feature on Amazon about five years ago, and I’ve recently broken it into three lists: fiction, non-fiction, and professional. Between the three, there are easily 1000 books that I’ve tagged. Now that I have a smart phone, I use that three-part wishlist as a prompt at the library or at book sales.

      Can’t wait to see your top ten list!

  5. Loni says:

    Stopping by from the Hop. Star Trek also takes up a lot of room in my brain. I’ve got over a hundred books to be read, and those are just the ones I own. I don’t even count the wishlists I have. It’s too bad I can’t spend all my time reading.

    • Jessica says:

      Spend all my time reading…I’m not sure I’d know what to do with myself! I mean, obviously I’d get farther along on my tbr list, but I think it would be strange, too. 🙂

      Trekkies of the world, unite! 😀 My dad raised me on Star Trek reruns, so I pretty much cut my teeth on Kirk and Spock, and then ST: TNG started airing when I was a kid, so it was a big family thing for us. We watched episodes together as a family and talked about them afterward. I miss that.

      • Loni says:

        I suppose it would be weird to spend ALL my time reading.

        I actually used to watch ST: TNG with my Dad too. It’s really his fault that I’m a little addicted to sci-fi.

      • Jessica says:

        I blame my dad for my fondness of sci-fi and my mom and step-dad for my love of fantasy. It was Dad’s copies of Dune, and his Heinlein novels, but mom’s editions of Narnia, and my step-dad’s copes if LotR and DragonLance, that I read.

        I was ridiculously fortunate to have all three of my parents be nerds & bibliophiles. I thought it was normal, growing up, to have stacks and stacks of books and overflowing bookshelves… and models of The Enterprise, and posters & paintings of Middle Earth…

        I run the risk of babbling. I’m cutting myself off here. 😉

  6. Shannon says:

    Ahem. I am mighty curious to know how many you really do have – when they mix in with everything else it’s hard to tell isn’t it? I use Goodreads to keep track of mine, and from there I created a numbered Word list that I can use on my blog to keep track there too … and I’m over 730. I stopped trying to find room on my bookcases for them ages ago; now they’re piling up on my desk. If I could have one thing right now, it would be more wall space so I could have more bookcases!

    • Jessica says:

      Ack. You’re tempting me to go browse my bookshelves and see how many “need to read” books are actually hanging out there. If I were to do so – and I’m not saying I will! – should I count non-fiction, too?

      I have a feeling if I do this, then my browsing of the bookstore shelves will slow down significantly, as I realize how many good reads I actually have waiting on me here at the house. Hmmm. Perhaps my budget could be helped by this. 😉

      Wow, you’re ever so much more organized about this than I am. A numbered list? I’m impressed.

  7. Pearl says:

    Stopping by from the hop. I really like your blog. 🙂 Good to see more SF readers out here blogging away. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

