SFF books that will stand the test of time

Over on SF Signal, they’ve asked two questions that I very curious to see answered, and by people who are better informed readers than I:

Which science fiction book first published within in the last 10 years will be considered a classic?

And

Which fantasy book first published within in the last 10 years do you think will be considered a classic?

Go read the responses from their panelists for some thoughtful answers.

What have you read that’s new this decade, that you think people will still be talking about a generation–or two, or three–from now?

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SFF books that will stand the test of time

  1. Loni says:

    Jessica, The second link in the post doesn’t seem to be working.

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks for the heads up, Loni. I think I’ve got it sorted, now. Thank goodness for the wordpress app on my phone.

      • Loni says:

        Wow. I read a fair about of SFF, but of both lists, I’ve only read Johnathon Strange & Mr. Norrell. I enjoyed it, but it had its up and down moments for me.

        I don’t know about “grown-up” books, but I think Harry Potter has the potential to become like the Chronicles of Narnia, a first step towards fantasy during childhood.

  2. curlygeek04 says:

    Great post! I’ve read a lot of the fantasy picks, not so many of the science fiction ones. I’m not sure the Jim Butcher books rise to the level of classics but they are entertaining. Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, definitely! And I was surprised but pleased to see nods to Patricia Briggs and Ilona Andrews. This post gives me a lot of new authors to check out.

    • Jessica says:

      Both lists expanded my “to-read” list that much more. I hadn’t read many of the listed novels at all.

      I’m soooo woefully under read. Gah.

      I’m glad you liked the post!

Leave a Reply

