Friday Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger HopIt’s time for the weekly Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy for Books. It’s a weekly book party that lets book bloggers connect and get to know each other a bit more. I’ve discovered some lovely blogs through this meme, and I’m glad to participate in it.

This week’s question is: Do you use a rating system for your reviews and if so, what is it and why?

In reply: No, I don’t using a rating system for my reviews, though I am considering creating one. I can see how they’d be useful. If I do create, say, a five or ten -star rating system, should I go back and retroactively apply it to previous reviews? Or just apply it going forward?

If you’re visiting from the Hop, drop a note and say hi. I don’t bite much, honest!

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday Book Blogger Hop

  1. Anne says:

    Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog =) You asked about where to start with Jasper Fforde. This entirely depends on what you’re looking for and what you’ve read. First, have you read Jane Eyre? If the answer is yes, then I would suggest starting with The Eyre Affair, the first in his Thursday Next series. If the answer is no, then I would say get on that, and in the meantime start with The Big Over Easy, first in his Nursery Crime series. Beyond that, read the synopses. The writing styles are similar, and either would get you started on a wonderful series. The only thing I wouldn’t do is start in the middle. His series’ have a definite order to them and if you start in the middle you will be VERY lost =D Hope that helps!

    ~Anne (creativityscorner.blogspot.com)

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks so much for the quick reply! Yep, I’ve read Jane Eyre, so now I’m curious about The Eyre Affair. Hmm. I think I need to see what the library has!

  2. Suko says:

    Hi, I am new to your blog from the Hop! Wow! I love your blog’s design. As far as a rating systems goes, I do not rate the books I review on my blog. 🙂

    • Jessica says:

      Hi. Thanks for stopping by.

      I do worry that using a rating system would mean that people look for that rather than read the actual review. I’m still not sure about using one.

  3. Kelli says:

    I vote for the rating system…as to whether you apply it retroactively, I guess that depends on how many books you have reviewed. I have over 150 book reviews on my blog, so any retroactive action is very time consuming! Have a great weekend!

  4. Shannon says:

    I used to use a rating system, one that matched Goodreads, but I’ve since dropped it. Ah, I left a long-winded answer as to why on my Hop post, as typical! I know what it’s like to go back through all your reviews and do one little edit – it’s very painful! But it’s also nice to have consistency. I guess it depends on how much of a neat-freak you are! 😉

    I’ve been going back through all mine (over 500) to do a couple of little edits to the format, and I’ve been doing it in small chunks this time. But I want them to have the same info and set-up, that’s my anal side! 🙂

    • Jessica says:

      Ha. I’m glad my blog is still fairly young, so anything I do that requires me to go back through isn’t yet terribly time consuming. I’ve been doing that periodically this summer–once I decided to take this whole blog thing seriously, I decided I had to make the reviews consistent. Ha. So much easier for me than if/when I change my mine five hundred reviews from now.

      I was going to ask why you went away from the rating system, but realized you probably mention that in your blog post, so…off I go.

  5. May says:

    Hey, I’m hopping by, thanks for the visit!

    I’ve added you to my feed ^^

  6. I would say just use your rating system from here on out, if you decide to use one. I started mine only recently and it would be WAY too much work to go back and rate everything I’ve read in the past. I can’t remember what half of the books were about, let alone whether they deserve and A, B, C, D or F!

    Found you via the Hop, BTW. I’ll be coming back often.

  7. Redhead says:

    Stopping by from the hop. . . but I hit up your site a few times a week anyways. I’m still torn on rating books. . . .

Leave a Reply

