Reading Meme – Day One

I’ve shamelessly filched this from Waiting for Fairies. It’s a neat idea, and maybe a way to let people know that I really am around, and the blog really is still going.

Day One – Your favorite series of books (with more than 3 in the series)

The Anne of Green Gables series, by L.M. Montgomery. I’ve read this series over andover (and over and over) since I first picked up Anne of Green Gables in second grade. Gilbert Blythe was my first fictional boyfriend, and between you, me, and the Internet, I think he ruined me for flesh-and-blood men. I’ve wanted red hair ever since grade school, too, and it’s a source of long standing irritation that I don’t have the coloring to pull it off.

The Wheel of Time, by Robert Jordan. Who knew, when I borrowed a copy of The Eye of the World from a friend in high school, that I’d still be reading the series fifteen years later, and have made great friends on the Internet through the fandom? The series has given me some of my favorite fictional characters ever written. I’ve also yelled at Jordan’s characters more than I think I’ve yelled at any others. Yes, I know they’re fictional. I still yell at them. If you’ve read the series, you know why.

The DragonLance books–specifically, the initial six written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman, The Chronicles and the Legends trilogies. I’m stretching a bit, here, because these are really two related trilogies, but in my head they’re one long narrative, so work with me. Like the Anne books, I initially read these in grade school, and have read them over and over ad nauseum over the years. Raistlin and Tasslehoff are long standing friends of mine.

The Dark-Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon. These aren’t old beloved books from my youth, as the other series are, but I can’t get enough of them. I just love what Kenyon has done with the mythology she’s pulled from, and she writes snark like no other, and I have a soft spot for snark. I used to call them a guilty pleasure, but at this point they’re really just novels I enjoy reading. No guilt involved, even if there is smut.

And just so you know what the month of this meme will look like:
(Apparently this was written for a thirty-day month, so December 31st is a freebie, in honor of the coming new year. Right? Right.)

Day One – Your favorite series of books (with more than 3 in the series)
Day Two – A book that you wish more people had read
Day Three – Your favorite recent book
Day Four – Your favorite book ever
Day Five – A book you hate
Day Six – Your favourite writer
Day Seven – A writer you don’t like
Day Eight – Your favourite work in translation
Day Nine – Best scene ever
Day Ten – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving
Day Eleven – A book that disappointed you
Day Twelve – An book you’ve read more than twice
Day Thirteen – Favorite childhood book
Day Fourteen – Favorite male character
Day Fifteen – Favorite female character
Day Sixteen – Your guilty pleasure book
Day Seventeen – Favorite trilogy or tetralogy
Day Eighteen – Favorite book cover
Day Nineteen – Best ensemble of characters in a book
Day Twenty – Favorite kiss or love scene
Day Twenty-one – Favorite fictional romantic relationship
Day Twenty-two – Favorite ending/climax
Day Twenty-three – Most annoying character
Day Twenty-four – Best quote
Day Twenty-five – A book you plan on reading
Day Twenty-six – OMG WTF? plot
Day Twenty-seven – Favorite non-mainstream writer
Day Twenty-eight – First book obsession
Day Twenty-nine – Current book obsession
Day Thirty – Saddest character death

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Reader's Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reading Meme – Day One

  1. Redhead says:

    What a cool meme! and it’s chilled out and relaxed, and fun, perfect for the Holidays. and I have you in my google reader, so I can keep up every day!

    My favorite series:
    Vlad Taltos series, by Steven Brust
    Dune, by Frank Herbert
    Song of Ice & Fire, by George R R Martin

    arrggghh, trilogies and just started series don’t count? so I can’t profess my love for Scott Lynch’s Gentlemen Bastard series, because so far there is only 2 books in the series?

    • Jessica says:

      Dune! I desperately need to revisit that series. I haven’t read it since I was a teen, and at this point I remember more about the movie and mini-series than I do the books. Given that Mom named me after Jessica (she was reading the series while pregnant with me), you’d think I’d have read the series more than once, eh?

      I haven’t read the Brust or Martin series yet, though both are on my long-term “to read” list.

      Ha. Alas, for these purposes, longer series only. Although, as you can see, I cheated with the DragonLance books. And now I’m off to check out the Gentleman Bastard books, ’cause I’ve not heard of them before. *scampers*

  2. Andy says:

    I’ll third Dune, which I’ve read at least 10 times (the originals by Frank Herbert, anyway).

    And I’ll throw in Lemony Snicket, all 13 volumes of which are awaiting my daughter as soon as she’s just a little bit older…

    • Jessica says:

      Andy, I’m beginning to realize your reading habits are as wonky as mine are. I wouldn’t have thought that the same person who lent me a stack of Palahniuk and Christopher Moore novels to read would be love Dune, too. Cool. 🙂

      I’ve only read the first three Lemony Snicket books, but loved them. I just somehow managed to not read the rest…and now I can’t think of why. Hmm. I need to rectify this.

      …and yes. Your kidlet *so* needs to read those when she’s older.

  3. Lindsay says:

    Oh, what a great meme! A list of my current favorite series would have to include the Miles Vorkosigan books, the Aubrey/Maturin novels, and maybe Dark Tower? Although I’m always happy to meet people who share my completely irrational undying love of Dragonlance 🙂

    You might like my art project from a few years back:
    Raistlin Tasslehoff

    • Jessica says:

      Oooh, more series to look up. Thanks!

      Wow. Look at all that work. They look fantastic!

      I adore DragonLance.

      Let me rephrase. I adore the original works by Weis & Hickman, and view the rest of the novels set in the world with varying degrees of affection, indifference, and/or loathing. Raistlin and Tas are perennial favorites of mine, so I’m over glee-ing at your customized action figures.

      • Lindsay says:

        “I adore the original works by Weis & Hickman, and view the rest of the novels set in the world with varying degrees of affection, indifference, and/or loathing. ”

        Well, yes, that’s basically what I meant 😉 I have a remembered affection more than a growing affection. I loved them all when I was in high school.

        I stopped buying Dragonlance books quite some time ago, and don’t really re-read anything but Chronicles and Legends. I do get a certain watching-a-train-wreck type of pleasure out of reading some of the newer bad ones (borrowed from the library).

  4. Pingback: Reading Meme Day 2 « The Double Phoenix

Leave a Reply

