Reading Meme – Day Two

Day Two – A book that you wish more people had read

Kristin Cashore’s Graceling. Now, I don’t think Graceling is unread, or anything like that, but in the group of people I talk to the most in regards to reading, I don’t think one of them has read Graceling, even though I gushed on about it when I first read it, and then pimped it again when I feel in love with the companion novel, Fire.

And really, they’re missing out. It’s a great fantastical world, a protagonist that I enjoy rooting for, and some nice variations on the themes you see in fantasy novels.

Read it, people! Cashore has a way with words.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Reader's Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Reading Meme – Day Two

  1. Andy says:

    Hahahahaha…. “Cash whore?” You’d think her agent would’ve suggested a name change.

    At any rate, I’ll beat the tired old drum of Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace. The best book by and for my generation, and I know only two others who’ve read it.

    A close second is A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers.

    I’ll read yours if you read mine…

    • Jessica says:

      You would find something to mock. Sheesh.

      This is the second time I’ve seen you mention A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius. At some point, I’m actually going to read this. Infinite Jest I need to look up. I’ve heard of it, but I don’t remember much beyond the title.

  2. ~ap~ says:

    Awww! You’ll be happy to know that I ordered these both for Rachel for Christmas! The bonus there, of course, is that I can read them, too! :o)
    ~ap~

    • Jessica says:

      Yey! I hope you and Rach like them! And that she doesn’t not read them just because you bought them for her. 😉

      • ~ap~ says:

        Let’s hope that doesn’t happen! I told her some time ago that you had recommended them for her and she was interested then… so maybe she’ll read them over her holiday. *nod*

  3. Jen D. says:

    I went so far as to buy it but, haven’t read it yet. I’m thinking I’m going to make 2011 the year of reading every damn book on my TBR shelves. I’ll use your suggestion of playing eenie meenie minie mo….for 12…whole…months.

    • Jessica says:

      You’ll get around to reading it when you’re ready. 🙂

      I should declare 2011 this for me, too. My stacks of TBR books are frightening, and then there are the books that I’ve actually shelved unread…I could go months without purchasing a new book, and have plenty to read.

  4. Redhead says:

    This meme is going to completely blow up my “books I want” list, isn’t it? I LOVE stuff like this!! 🙂

    the book I wish more people would read is The Sparrow, by Mary Doria Russell. It’s obscure, and badly categorized, and the blurb on the back of the book I think turns people off, because you pick it up and you think it’s a religious book. and it’s not. I’ve got a review of it scheduled to post on my blog in a few days. a really incredible and moving book.

    • Jessica says:

      Yep! It probably will make your TBR list even longer. This is good, right? RIGHT? 😉

      As it turns out, with the comments I’m getting, my own list is growing, too. I’m off to look up The Sparrow now, thanks to your input.

  5. Kiara says:

    I bought it on your suggestion. It is on my shelf. I even have the audio for this and for Fire. I just. Uh. Haven’t taken the time to read them yet. I probably have a year or TWO worth of unread books on my TBR shelves.

    • Jessica says:

      I understand. I do. After reading your comment about your TBR shelves, I did a quick count of the books stacked in my room, and if I average a week per book (since sometimes I read fast, sometimes not so much) I have six months of reading in leaning book towers. If I factor in the unread books on my shelves, I have over a year’s worth, too.

      Damn. Why do I keep going to bookstores?

  6. Joanna says:

    Didn’t I tell you I found this in a bargain bin for $4 or something? I started reading it last week, in fact, and I like it so far. ‘Tis fun. 🙂

  7. Joanna says:

    And I liked it so much I finished it this morning. I liked it a lot!

Leave a Reply

