Friday Book Blogger Hop

It’s been a while, but I’m taking part in the Hop again. Hi there! If you’re visiting from the Hop. Welcome!

Book Blogger HopThe Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy For Books, and it’s a weekend-long excuse to go cruise around the blogs of other bibliophiles. It’s nifty, and I like to participate every so often.

Every week there is a question. This week, it is:

“What very popular and hyped book in the blogosphere did you NOT enjoy and how did you feel about posting your review?”

Weeeellll, I can’t think of a popular, super hyped book that I’ve read and not enjoyed since I’ve been blogging. This might be because my gut reaction to anything that’s crazy popular and over hyped is to avoid it like the plague (it took me ages to read Harry Potter after its popularity reached critical mass, for example).

The closest example I can think of is the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, which I’m in the middle of reading. It’s hugely popular with the paranormal romance crowd, and I’m beginning to understand just how rabid and slightly frightening the fans can be. I enjoy the books, but I honestly don’t understand the rabid fandom and the hype that seems to surround the series. It’s an entertaining series, yes, but not omg mindblowing entertainment. At least not to me. πŸ˜‰

Put away your pitchforks, fan girls.

As for reviewing… this doesn’t apply directly to the question, but if I can’t stand a book so much that I can’t finish it, I probably won’t mention it here, unless I’m in a post where I feel comfortable kvetching (for example, later on in this month-long meme I’ve got going). If I finished the book and wasn’t impressed by it, I have, and will, explain why in my review.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Reader's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday Book Blogger Hop

  1. Cem says:

    LOL okay, that made me laugh. I’ve read books 1-4 of BDB and am planning on the rest at some point, but I completely agree! Good books yes, and I did love the first couple, but why the crazy fandom? But then, I wonder that about Twilight too (and I mean no offence to anyone with that! Just not my cup of tea!!). Thanks for checking out my blog. Noticed your month long meme, and I’m totally going to snag that idea for the new year πŸ˜‰

    • Jessica says:

      I admit to getting sucked into the Twilight fannishness, and even getting friends to read the series…but I did always give friends the caveat of “don’t look too deep into this; it’s entertaining, but not literature.” Total CYA ’cause I wanted my friends to still respect me in the morning. πŸ˜‰ For all that I’ve been involved in the online fandom, I don’t get the crazy scary fangirls (er, fanwomen), either.

      Yes! Spread the meme! I’m nosy and want to know what other people are, and have been, reading. So far the other bloggers who’ve been doing this meme have really added to my TBR list and broadened my horizons a bit.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Yes to being unimpressed by noisy fans. Actually, rabid fandom behavior can put other people right off whatever you’re a fan of… although it occurs to me that this might be part of the point, it then keeps it “special” for the ones who are super mega fans, helps it feel like an exclusive club. Hmmm…

    • Jessica says:

      Yes and yes.

      I’m not sure it’s a deliberate cause and effect by people in most rabid fandoms, but I do think that the rabid scares some people off, which gives those in the fandom leeway to start feeling elitist or clannish…which continues to scare people off, reinforcing the clannishness.

      This is one of the reasons I’m scared of the Supernatural fandom, frankly. I dipped my toes in there, saw some of the forums, and hurried right back out.

  3. I’m actually pretty wary of getting into the Black Dagger Brotherhood since one of my friends who is a very good indicator of what I might want to read didn’t think it was that great.

    And omg at the Twilight fandom… I went to see the first movie in theaters, and while the movie itself wasn’t that good… the screaming teen girls made it that much worse >.<

    Stopping by from the Blog Hop~~

    Sniffly Kitty
    Sniffly Kitty’s Mostly Books

    • Jessica says:

      Screaming fangirls really can ruin a movie. *nods* Or make a terrible movie even worse.

      To like BDB you have to really embrace the paranormal romance cliche of leather-wearing, muscle-bound alpha males who are broken inside and just need a good strong woman to help them find balance. I do like the characters, but this is the backbone of the series. Now that I’m getting farther along in the series, it’s nice to see that find a mate doesn’t fix anyone, just helps them not be quite so self-destructive and effed up. Mostly.

      It’s not for everyone, I don’t think.

  4. Brenda says:

    I like the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, but I definitely wouldn’t consider myself a rabid fan.

  5. Lori says:

    I am obsessively in love with the Black Daggar Brotherhood series. I also enjoyed the Harry Potter series. LOL, I don’t carry pitchforks by the way. πŸ™‚ Just hopping through on the Blog Hop and thought I would say “Hello”. So, Hello πŸ™‚

    HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!

    Lori
    Escape Between The Pages

  6. Redhead says:

    Paoli Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl was hyped all over the place. It was nomiated for a zillion awards, won about a million of them. . . and I just couldn’t get into it. read 50 or so pages, and put it down and never picked it back up. the writing style just didn’t do it for me.

  7. Anne says:

    Stopping by from the hop. Looks great, I’ll be following =)

    P.S. I LOVED There’s a Monster at the End of This Book when I was little – my mom would read it to me in Grover’s voice and I have vivid memories of me as a little kid saying “Turn the page! Turn the page!” It may (though I’m not positive) be the first book I ever read for myself as well =D I wonder where that got to *wanders off to the attic to look for old books*

    • Jessica says:

      I remember Mom dramatically asking me if she should turn the page, since Grover was so scared of what might come next. As if I would’ve said “no.” πŸ™‚ If this wasn’t the first book I read to myself, then I think Virginia Lee Burton’s The Little House was. A copy lived at my grandmother’s, and I’d read every time I visited her.

  8. Aimee says:

    I didn’t like Black dagger Brotherhood so much. I read Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series first and like that much better. My hop is at Coffee Table Press

Leave a Reply

