Reading Meme – Day Three

Day Three – Your favorite recent book

The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi. I read this over the summer, and it blew me away. I can’t say enough good things about the novel. With the recognition it’s gotten by way of the LocusNebula, and Hugo awards, it I’m not the only one.

The best part, for me? I’m not really even a future dystopia kind of reader. I bought the book because I recognized Bacigalupi’s name (I was actually keeping an eye out for his YA novel, Ship Breaker), and the cover art drew me in. It’s so different from what I’m accustomed to seeing on the sci-fi/fantasy shelf that my eye went right to it.

Appropriate, considering that the language Bacigalupi uses is just as lush and eye-catching as the cover art. Way to go, people in charge of dressing up and covering the manuscript for the shelf!

I’ve already reviewed The Windup Girl, so I won’t do that a second time, though it is tempting to keep gushing. Can you tell that it really is my favorite recently read book?

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Reader's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reading Meme – Day Three

  1. Andy says:

    Recently read or recently published?

    If recently published, then you’d have to go back at least five years. I don’t think I’ve read fiction more recently published than that.

    Right now I’m reading A Confederacy of Duncesby John Kennedy Toole, and I love it. It’s a picaresque about a highly educated lazy mama’s boy in his 30’s who is forced to go out in search of his first job. It’s hilariously absurd and thinking about it now makes me want to take a “smoke break” and read another chapter.

    • Jessica says:

      Interpret “recent” in whichever way you prefer. The Windup Girl just happens to fill both definitions you mention, so I was good either way. 😉

      I’ve heard of A Confederacy of Dunces several times, but I haven’t taken the time to look into it. It sounds like a good read. Sigh… my list o’ books I want to read just gets longer and longer.

  2. Redhead says:

    how far back does “Recent” mean? 😉

    I recently finished Joe Abercrombie’s The First Law series, and it was published in the last couple years. He is totally my new favorite author! the man is an absolute lunatic and just brilliant!

    • Jessica says:

      “Recent” means whatever you want it to mean. 😀

      Guh. I don’t know Joe Abercrombie, or his writing. Google and I are about to do some research. Thanks for the heads up!

  3. Joanna says:

    I have this one on my Christmas list because of you. I want you to know that.

Leave a Reply

