Reading Meme – Day Four

Day Four – Your favorite book ever

I had a moment when I saw today’s topic in the meme. I’m terrible, truly terrible, at calling any one thing “favorite.” You might have noticed that on day one, I didn’t just list one favorite series. I couldn’t. It was tough enough to stop where I did!

So. Ack. My favorite book ever.

Initially, I was going to stick with the speculative fiction umbrella for all my answers, but then I went and mentioned Anne of Green Gables in the initial post of the meme, and I decided the hell with it–I’m dealing with absolutes this month, regardless of category.

I just want you to be prepared. My favorite book ever isn’t sci-fi or fantasy. It’s not a general novel or something written for the YA crowd. It’s more old school than that.

It’s The Monster at the End of This Book: Starring Lovable, Furry Old Grover. Written by Jon Stone and illustrated by Michael Smollin, Monster is probably the single most re-read book I’ve ever owned. I adored it as a kid, and when I’m feeling nostalgic, I want to read it again as an adult. I have many fond memories of flipping through this with my mom, and I’m thinking there are some tyke-sized kids in the family who really need their own copies.

Honorable mention for this post was the first Anne book, Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery. I do adore Anne and all the trouble she gets into, and I practically have that novel memorized, but Grover won out by a smidge. There’s just something about the little blue guy, ya know?

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Reader's Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reading Meme – Day Four

  1. Katie says:

    Anne of Green Gables is my Favourite Book Ever. I first read it when I was about 7 or 8 and I loved Anne – she reminded me so much of myself, always in a daydream, always getting into scrapes.

    • Jessica says:

      I spent a lot of time–do spend a lot of time–in my own head, day dreaming. I can’t help but think that Anne influenced me toward that, too. Or at least reinforced that tendency.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Oh, you get internet hugs and cookies. This is a great choice. I completely understand picking a book that has been with you for so long, if you have to choose one “favorite.” Plus, I LOVE THIS BOOK! Grover is awesome, and Sesame Street is a world-changing force for good.

  3. Redhead says:

    I SO need to find a copy of Monster at the End of the Book for my best friend! She loves the muppets and her son will be a year old in March.

    oy, favorite book? but favorite books are like favorite shoes, they are your favorite at that moment, for that emotion, for that season, for those specific dresses only. but books, like favorite pairs of shoes can be identified by the wear and tear.

    So I’ll say my favorite books are the ones I have read and re-read and marked pages and underlined things I like. The books that have suffered much wear and tear over the years because i handle them so often. You ready for some major juxtaposition?

    Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
    Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

    • Jessica says:

      Neither of which I’ve read, though I have started Atlas Shrugged, I didn’t make it far. I want to try it again; I just wasn’t in the mood for that type of story when I started it.

      Thanks to you, my wishlist now has Lies of Locke Lamora on it.

  4. Jen D. says:

    I feel like I was robbed of a childhood experience. I’ve never read Anne of Green Gables. *sigh* One of my faves growing up and to this day is The Giving Tree. Damn book makes me cry every time I read it.

    • Jessica says:

      The Giving Tree really is a guaranteed cry. I love that story.

      You can still read the Anne books now! They aren’t sold only to children, or anything! 🙂

  5. Andy says:

    I’m also terrible at saying any one thing is my favorite, outside Hendrick’s gin, but for the moment it’d have to be:

    Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace.

    Hey, it’s kinda spec fic.

  6. Brenda says:

    My seven year old son agrees with you about this being the best book ever. I love reading it to my kids. I like Anne of Green Gables, too.

    • Jessica says:

      My Mom and I have such fond memories of reading this together. Grover is her favorite Sesame Street character, and we spent a lot of time with him and this book.

  7. Pingback: Reading Meme Day Thirteen | On a Pale Star

Leave a Reply

