Reading Meme – Day Six

Day Six – Your favorite writer

When I first saw today’s topic, I balked. I enjoy reading so many authors! Several have had a huge influence on my reading and writing habits, have forced me to think more than I necessarily want to, and have in general enriched my life. The list is long, and includes Alice Walker, Robert A. Heinlein, C.S. Lewis, Charles Dickens, L.M. Montgomery, and Umberto Eco. In the end, though, I have to go with the below gentleman.

Douglas Adams. His novels shaped my early teens, showed me early on how absurd life is (and how to laugh at the absurdities),  introduced me to the wild and wacky world of British humor and science fiction. I can’t tell you how much I love the various iterations of Hitchhiker’s Guide (radio, television, novel, movie).

Adam’s writing has seriously informed the way I read, my perspective on life, and how I have chosen to react to the ups and downs of living. It seems ridiculous, given that his isn’t “serious” mainstream literature. I’m sure somewhere some academic is having a conniption fit over the very idea that Douglas Adams’ work more influential than, say, Charles Dickens or Shakespeare (both of whom I like — just not as much as Adams).

And hey! He did more than Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy! There’s also Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, Starship Titanic, The Meaning of Liff, Last Chance to See, and Bureaucracy.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Reader's Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading Meme – Day Six

  1. Andy says:

    I’ll happily second that one. A true great; though again, ask me my favorite anything an hour from now, and it will be different.

  2. Brenda says:

    I’ve only read The Hitchhiker’s Guide, and although I didn’t love it, I do plan to read more from Adams in the future.

  3. Redhead says:

    i can’t pick just one!

Leave a Reply

