Reading Meme – Day Eleven

Day Eleven – Book that disappointed you

This post started off simply with a picture of Breaking Dawn‘s cover, ’cause I figured that was self-explanatory. I ought to have stopped reading that a third of the way through. But then I started thinking about it, and there’s another novel that I found disappointing, and bitterly so. Couldn’t even finish it.

Dragons of the Fallen SunThe novel I found so let down by? Dragons of a Fallen Sun. It is the first in a trilogy that is meant to follow up the story-lines of the DragonLance Chronicles and Legends series (which, you’ll remember, I named as my favorites on day one of this meme). Written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman, just as the original series was, it feels comparatively flat and lifeless, and I just could not bring myself to dive a damn about these characters. There is an intemediary book, Dragons of Summer Flame, which is the “fourth” book in the Chronicles trilogy, featuring the children of the Heroes of the Lance. I liked it, immensely. Why, then, I don’t care about some those same characters in Dragons of a Fallen Sun, I can’t fathom. But I don’t. I stopped reading the book and left it with a parent who also love(d) the DragonLance books. Apparently he thinks it’s great storytelling and that I’m weird for disliking it so much.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Reader's Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading Meme – Day Eleven

  1. Brenda says:

    I’ve only read one book in the Dragonlance series. I want to read more, though.

    • Jessica says:

      I think it’s a fun world, and there are some novels set in it that I like, and others that, like this one, I don’t care for. I do recommend the initial novels written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman: Dragons of Autumn Twilight, Dragons of Winter Night, and Dragons of Spring Dawning.

  2. Lindsay says:

    I did eventually struggle through the War of Souls series, but it was pretty dumb throughout. It really felt to me as if W&H regretted that they had broken the cosmology of their world and left it to others to mangle, and wrote this entire trilogy just to try to “fix” it in continuity. (not to mention the royalty checks involved)

    The resolution of the plot was kinda funny, but you were right to be disappointed.

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks for the reinforcement. 🙂 I recently had a date with someone who looked positively scandalized when I mentioned being disappointed in the War of Souls books, and downright horrified that I didn’t finish book one. It was almost enough to make me question my reaction.

Leave a Reply

