Reading Meme – Day Sixteen

Day Sixteen – Your guilty pleasure book

Until recently, any smutty/romance novel I was reading would’ve fallen under this heading. However, nowadays I’m embracing my love for paranormal romances, so I can’t say that I have a guilty pleasure book. Why feel guilty about reading?

Although, I do have to admit that when I was reading this edition of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Night Play, I was a bit self conscious. It’s a ridiculous cover. Pink! Purple! With chiseled man chest! I like the other edition I’ve seen, with just Vane’s head and the title–much less cheese.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Reader's Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading Meme – Day Sixteen

  1. Melissa T says:

    You know… that’s another e-reader bonus! No more cringing at people looking at your cheesy book covers. HA!

  2. Jessica says:

    Lol. This is true. Some of the paranormal romance and urban fantasy covers just make me want to cover my eyes at the utter cheese.

    And all those books that I want to read, but come out in HC first? So on my e-reader. When I finally get it. Well, except for the ones I actually want to keep long term, like Sanderson’s.

  3. Brenda says:

    I hate those kind of covers. The story may very well be great, but I probably would never pick up the book just based on the cover.

    • Jessica says:

      This is true for me, too. A friend loaned me the book when she was trying to hook me on the series, and she too lamented the cover…if she hadn’t lent it to me, and I’d seen it on the shelf at the store, I wouldn’t have spent the money, honestly. I hate it. (But online I’ve seen alternate covers that are far, far less cheesy…those I would’ve gone for).

Leave a Reply

