Speculative Fiction Magazines

Most of my reading comes in the form of novels or print anthologies. I have a fondness for short stories, though, and in organizing my very long list of bookmarks over the holidays, I realized that I’ve collected links to quite a few online and print magazines that deliver delicious, quality speculative fiction. I feel ridiculous for having let these mostly languish in a disorganized folder. Sheesh.

What kind of blogger would I be if I didn’t share? I plan on adding these to the sidebar, too.

Here’s the list, from my bookmarks. Go forth and read!

A’s
Abyss & Apex
A Cappella Zoo
Albedo One
AlienSkin Magazine
Allegory
Alt Hist
Analog
Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine
Another Realm
Apex Magazine
Aphelion Magazine
Asimov’s Science Fiction

B-D
Beneath Ceaseless Skies
Bewildering Stories
Black Gate
Black Static
Bull Spec
Challenging Destiny
Clarkesworld Magazine
Continuum Science Fiction
Darker Matter

E-I
Electric Spec
Electric Velocipede
Everyday Weirdness
Expanded Horizons
Fantasy Magazine
Fantasy & Science Fiction
Goblin Fruit
GUD Magazine
Heliotrope Magazine
Icarus
Ideomancer
Interzone

J-R
Jim Baen’s Universe
Jupiter
Lightspeed Magazine
Locus
Neo-opsis
On Spec
Onirismes
OSC’s Intergalactic Medicine Show
Podcastle
Quantum Muse
Realms of Fantasy
Redstone Science Fiction

S’s
Salon Futura
Science Fiction Studies
Shimmer
Starship Sofa
Strange Horizons
Sybil’s Garage
Subterranean Press Magazine

T-Z
Weave Magazine
Weird Tales
Zahir Tales

So, who am I missing? What other fanzines, magazines, or journals carry speculative fiction?

Do you read any of these pubs? If so, what are your favorites?

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Speculative Fiction Magazines

  1. suizyq says:

    Just what I was looking for. Thanks!!!!!

  2. deannalynnc says:

    This is great! More things to read. I’m sorry to say that I don’t have anything to add since I’m still new to the actually researching things but I am happy to start checking these out.

    I also think that my comments aren’t going through because I know on the last review you did I posted a comment about it. 😦 I’ve been reading your blog I swear! 😛

    • Jessica says:

      Comments can be wonky–but I am glad to know you’ve been reading!

      The amount of fiction available online is staggering; when I started organizing my bookmarks, I had no idea that so many pubs were out there or that I had so many bookmarked, and wasn’t reading.

  3. catherine evleshin says:

    Fiction vortex publishes two stories/wk. Semi pro editors a delight!i

Leave a Reply

