Book Blogger Hop 1/14-1/17

Book Blogger Hop

In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word! It is hosted by Crazy-for-Books.com. Each week there is a question for us to answer. This week, it is:

“Why do you read the genre that you do?  What draws you to it?”

Speculative fiction, for me, has… something. I’m not sure I can articulate what it is that draws me to it as a genre. I read and love literary and mainstream fiction as well–you just happen to not see it here on the blog. The bulk of my reading over the years, though, as been spec fic, and mostly fantasy of some variety or another.

What I like about spec fic is what I like about fiction in general: the best of any fiction makes me think and gives me the chance to look at life from a different perspective. These are the stories that stick with me over the years, the ones I come back to for re-reads. Usually the thinky bits pertain to social customs and societal commentary, but it’s just as likely that the thinky bits will be about individual responsibility and growth. As with any fiction writing, that depends on the author and their goals and skill sets.

Of course, there is also the entertainment and escapism factor. I can’t deny that it’s fun to explore the galaxy with LeGuin, Herbert, Heinlein, and Clarke, romp through medieval/magical lands with Tolkein, Jordan, and Brooks, or explore contemporary life with a special twist in urban fantasy. Whole new possibilities are opening up to me as I start Octavia E. Butler’s Patternist series (which, by the way… awesome. I’m a 100 pages into Wild Seed and I love it).

In sum, what draws me to speculative fiction is a combination of smart writing (though, of course, like anything else, there are works that are “meh” at best), thoughtfulness, social commentary, entertainment, and escapism.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Book Blogger Hop 1/14-1/17

  1. Here I am hopping on by…

    I went all over the map with this question on my blog. I read and enjoy almost every genre of fiction out there. There’s no way I could just pick one.

    So I talked about all of them. Even romance fiction (sort of)! I invite you to hop over to my blog at http://www.howardsherman.net and see for yourself.

    Howard A. Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  2. You articulated perfectly!!

  3. Just hopping through and hoping you’re enjoying your weekend so far. You can find my HOP answer and FEVERfest recap at The Bookish Snob

  4. deannalynnc says:

    Your site is the third site I have seen with this blog hop question and I love it! I might be a reading fanatic but I honestly never really thought about genres when I read (before the blogging) since I would just find a book I thought sounded exciting and read it. I have never heard of this particular genre but I have heard of a few of the authors so I at least know what you are talking about. I really enjoy so many genres I think it would be very hard for me to put it down to just one…

    • Jessica says:

      I don’t think that speculative fiction is a terribly widespread term, but I think it should be; it covers the fantastical types of fiction, like science fiction, fantasy, horror, magical realism, slipstream… it’s very much an umbrella term. I think I first heard it when I saw an interview with Margaret Atwood, who was pretty emphatic about saying her writing was NOT science fiction (even stories like Oryx and Crake), and I think she then called it speculative fiction. When I went investigating “speculative fiction” I laughed, ’cause to me it’s pretty much the same idea. *shrugs* I suppose she didn’t want some of the stigma that can come with the genre tag.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    First-time visitor…nice blog.

    Hopping by from the blog hop.

    Happy Hopping.

    Elizabeth
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  6. Redhead says:

    great answer! I love the escapism factor of spec fic, and a lot of the weirdness. it’s that magical “what if?” that I can’t get enough of!

Leave a Reply

