Book Blogger Hop 2/4-2/7

Book Blogger HopHi there to the book blogger hop for the first weekend of February! I think most people following my blog are familiar with this by now, but just in case: the Book Blogger hop is hosted by Crazy-for-Books.com and is a way for book bloggers to get to know each other, hop around from blog-to-blog, and have a weekend visiting each other. Annnd you non-bloggers can visit, too, and find out who else is out there.

Every week there is a question. This week’s is:“What are you reading now and why are you reading it?”

I have bookmarks in several books right now, but the main one is Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Sausages by Tom Holt. I’m loving it. I requested a review copy pretty much because the title makes me laugh. Lame, maybe, but it’s worked out so far. Holt is freaking funny, and now I want to go and read his other titles.

I have, however, been distracted by two very fun web comics: Gunnerkrigg Court by Tom Siddell and Girl Genius by Phil & Kaja Foglio. I’m caught up on Gunnerkrigg Court, but they’ve been writing & drawing Girl Genius for a while now (since 2002), and I’ve only made through 2008 in the archives. I’m obsessed with getting caught up–it’s so much fun to read.

So, yeah, that’s what I’m reading. Hysterically funny British SF and awesome fantasy and steampunk webcomics. Whoo!

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Reader's Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Book Blogger Hop 2/4-2/7

  1. Natalie says:

    Hoppin on by to say hi!
    Natalie :0)
    http://www.thebookinn.net

  2. Loni says:

    That is definitely an eye-catching title. It’s even better that the book is entertaining.

  3. Alison says:

    Hopping through. Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Sausages is a great title!
    My Hop

  4. Redhead says:

    Tom Holt is a riot, and I’m so happy you’re getting to Girl Genius! isn’t it just the cutest, wackiest thing ever? I LOVE the Jagermonsters!

    I’m reading Flatterland, by Ian Stewart, it’s mathgasmic, and Cowboy Angels, by Paul McAuley, which had a rough start but now it’s awesome, a little like James Bond stuck in a cliffhanger episode of Sliders.

    • Jessica says:

      The Jagerkin are the best…and it amazes me that I can read their speech bubbles with no problem now. At first I was constantly trying to figure out what the heck they were saying. 😉 It took me about a week of obsessive reading to get caught up, but as of 2am last night, I’m current on Girl Genius. Now I just need to get caught up on all the other webcomics I’m following…

      I’m definitely looking for the rest of Holt’s novels. He reminds me a lot of Christopher Moore, with the blend of brilliant humor and sci-fi (though with Moore it’s usually fantasy).

      “James bond stuck in a cliffhanger episode of Sliders” wow! Sign me up! That description alone sold me. I’m off to look up Cowboy Angels now.

      • Redhead says:

        you gotta read the Jagerkin stuff out loud, and then it makes sense perfectly. And then you just wanna read it all out loud anyways becuase it’s hilarious! I heart Girl Genius!

        Hopefully I’ll have a review of Cowboy Angels up sometimes tomorrow.

      • Jessica says:

        I see that Cowboy Angels review is up now. I need to check it out.

        With the Jagerkin…that’s pretty much what I did. Reading their speech aloud was the only way I could wrap my brain around what they were saying at first. “Hyu” threw me until I started doing that. 🙂

  5. Anne says:

    Thank you so much for mentioning Girl Genius! I was curious so I wandered over after stopping by last night and I’ve already made it through the end of 2005! Awesome stuff =)

    Anyways, happy hopping!

    ~Anne (creativityscorner.blogspot.com)

    • Jessica says:

      I’ve been obsessive about reading Girl Genius since I first opened it up about a week ago. I love it so much. I’m glad my mention got you reading it–it’s so much fun.

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

