Wecomics. Do you read them?

I do. I was first introduced to webcomics several years ago when a good friend pointed me toward Sluggy Freelance, and I’ve been hooked ever since. There’s so much creativity and great storytelling in this medium; I’m so happy to be able to read and enjoy.

This post is inspired by one of the blogs I follow that in the last month or so has talked about webcomics. I wish I could remember which one of you it was! I have a fair number of webcomics bookmarked, most of which I keep up with on a (fairly) regular basis. I enjoy them all, and they all pertain to this blog’s focus of speculative fiction (more or less)…so I’m sharing with you.

Sluggy Freelance by Pete Abrams
Looking for Group by Ryan Somer, Lar DeSouza
The Order of the Stick by Rich Burlew
Girl Genius by Phil & Kaja Foglio
PvP (Player vs. Player) by Scott R. Kurtz
Penny Arcade by Jerry Holkins, Mike Krahulik
Gunnerkrigg Court by Tom Siddell
The Devil’s Panties by Jennie Breeden
Virtuoso by John Munger, Krista Brennan
Digger by Ursula

What like-minded webcomics do you read? Recommend something new for me, which will distract me from all these novels and short stories I’m checking out. 😉

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Reader's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wecomics. Do you read them?

  1. Ack! You are missing Weregeek by the glorious Alina Pete.

  2. Ben T-Gaidin says:

    Nice list; I follow all of them except Virtuoso, so I’ll have to check that one out…
    I’d recommend you take a look at Red String (http://www.redstring.strawberrycomics.com/) too; it’s not quite in the SF vein, being a slice-of-life story of Japanese HS students, but it’s still very worth reading.

    Also on my list:
    Dresden Codak (http://dresdencodak.com/2007/02/08/pom/) Irregularly updated, but awesome SF stories and other fun stuff.

    Skin Horse (http://www.skin-horse.com/) by the fabulous Shaenon Garrity of Narbonic fame (http://www.narbonic.com/) about the (mis)adventures of a government agency tasked with helping the non-human sentients created and abandoned by mad science.

  3. ~ap~ says:

    All I read (LFG, LICD, OotS, etc.) I got from someone on the list! I’ve considered checking out some others but it would destroy my reading pace!

    • Jessica says:

      They really do interfere with my book & short story reading, but as far as I’m concerned, entertainment is entertainment, whether it’s in graphic format or the written word.

  4. Anne says:

    I would suggest Namesake (www.namesakecomic.com), a fairly recent one, but very good so far!

Leave a Reply

