Review: The Amazing Transformation of Wicca Dog by Krista D. Ball

“The Amazing Transformation of Wicca Dog”
Krista D. Ball
fantasy
2010
Smashwords
13 pages (in ebook format)
acquired: purchased

The blurb from the publisher:
When Robert is bitten by his nephew, he’s convinced that he isn’t really going to turn into a werewolf. After all, werewolves aren’t real. Unfortunately for Robert, mischievous Pan is nearby, lamenting that there aren’t enough shapeshifters in the world.
The review:
The thing about asking trickster gods for help is that you’re probably not going to get the help that you want or need; if they decide to intercede, it’s going to be on their terms only. Robert finds this out the hard way after his nephew bites him and his sister tries to shoot him. “Pan, do not forsake me,” Robert cries out, and Pan answers as only Pan (or perhaps Loki or Coyote) would.

I often get a perverse sort of pleasure when I cotton to what’s going on before the protagonist does. Of course, I’m at an advantage as the reader; I know what type of story I’ve picked up, I’ve probably read the blurb, and the insanity isn’t happening to me. I know that if I were suddenly thrust into a place where the fantastical was actually real that I’d probably flip out an deny, deny, deny before accepting the truth. This doesn’t mean I don’t get amused at the misfortune of someone like Robert being bitten by an infant werewolf, though. The man is a Wiccan, one who plans that very night to host a ritual in honor of Pan. You’d think he’d be more open to the idea of magical creatures in the world… and possibly know better than asking Pan for assistance.

This was fun and light reading. A lot of fun (for the reader, and for Pan, but not so much for Robert) and a little bit of cautionary tale in a few short pages.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: The Amazing Transformation of Wicca Dog by Krista D. Ball

  1. Yeah, he’s a devout Wiccan, not a smart one 😉

    • Jessica says:

      I realized after reading your comment that so many of my Wiccan friends are smart, intelligent people that I’ve come to associate the two… which maybe is why I was surprised that Robert is mostly just an average guy.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review: The Amazing Transformation of Wicca Dog by Krista D. Ball | On a Pale Star -- Topsy.com

  3. I have found that every religion, social group, political organization, and local quilting circle have a large mass of dim-witted individuals. Robert is in honour of those folks 😉

    (Poor Robert)

    Thanks for the review 🙂

Leave a Reply

