Coming Soon: The March release I’ve waited for since I was twelve

I first read the then-available books in Jean Auel’s Earth’s Children series (The Clan of the Cave Bear, The Valley of Horses, The Mammoth Hunters, and The Plains of Passage) when I was in seventh and eighth grade, and have been awaiting the conclusion of the series ever since. I was surprised and delighted when The Shelters of Stone released in 2002; I’d thought the series to be abandoned. I’m beyond excited, of course, that the final book in the series, The Land of Painted Caves, is coming out this month.

Unfortunately, it’s been so long since I read the series that I have only the barest memory of where the characters were and what they were doing at the close of Shelters of Stone, so I’ll be doing a re-read of the novels before I tackle the final volume. I’ve not reviewed re-reads here on the blog before, but perhaps I’ll do short reviews of each here as I go back through them.

The Land of Painted CavesThe Land of Painted Caves
Jean Auel
historical fiction
March 29, 2011
The Crown Publishing Group
ISBN: 97-8-05175-8051-6
768 pages

The blurb, from Goodreads:
The highly anticipated sixth book of Jean Auel’s Earth’s Children® series, THE LAND OF PAINTED CAVES, is the culmination fans have been waiting for. Continuing the story of Ayla and Jondalar, Auel combines her brilliant narrative skills and appealing characters with a remarkable re-creation of the way life was lived more than 25,000 years ago. THE LAND OF PAINTED CAVES is an exquisite achievement by one of the world’s most beloved authors.

As excited as I am, I’ve “only” been reading the series since 1992 or so. I can’t imagine how people who first read Clan of the Cave Bear in 1980 must feel. Perhaps readers of King’s Dark Tower, Jordan’s Wheel of Time, and Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series can empathize. 🙂

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Coming Soon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming Soon: The March release I’ve waited for since I was twelve

  1. I’m waiting and waiting for it! I read the Clan of the Cavebear when I was twelve too (considerably longer ago than you!), and can’t wait for the next one. Wooo Hooo!

    • Jessica says:

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂 My big plans this weekend include swinging by the library to pick up Clan of the Cave Bear to begin a re-read. I have only the barest memory of what Ayla and Jondalar were up to where the series left off.

Leave a Reply

