Book Blogger Hop March 4-6, 2011

Book Blogger HopWelcome to my (sort of) monthly participation in the Book Blogger Hop, which is hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy For Books. It’s a chance for bloggers to network and for bloggers and readers to discover new blogs. So hi! Welcome.
Each week there is a question for participating bloggers to answer. This week it is: “Who’s your all time favorite book villain?”

The two that come to mind for me aren’t villains, necessarily. Often in opposition to the heroes, perhaps, misguided definitely, but not evil so much. Javert, from The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo and Raistlin Majere from the initial DragonLance trilogies written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book Blogger Hop March 4-6, 2011

  1. Sally says:

    Hi, hon – first time stopping by, but I suspect I’ll be a regular visitor. Very nice choice with Raistlin Majere. The Dragonlance Chronicles were my first fantasy read, and the sickly wizard with the hourglass eyes will always have a place in my heart (alongside Tasslehoff Burrfoot, of course!).

    I went with Stephen King’s Randall Flagg as my villain of choice . . . not only is he evil incarnate, but he pops up all over the SK universe.

    • Jessica says:

      I think Tasslehoff and Raistlin are probably the two most popular characters from that series–and for good reason! I feel like they were the most layered and three-dimensional. I have a special place in my heart for Flint, too. *sniffs*

      I’m not a huge SK reader, but I do remember Flagg from Eyes of the Dragon. A very good and creepy villain, as I recall.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Redhead says:

    ooohh, tough one. Most recently it would be Iuda from Jasper Kent’s Twelve. that guy isn’t so much a villian as he is a total, umm, well, that would be a major spoiler!

    Regal from Robin Hobb’s Farseer trilogy is a total bastard, he seriously needs to die!!!

    • Jessica says:

      So wait, how do you feel about Regal? 😉

      Upon reflection, I think Rat from the first novel in the Brent Weeks Night Angel trilogy is a great villain. I almost answered with the Godking from Shadow’s Edge, but in the ended I decided he was too over the top, and went with morally ambiguous instead.

  3. Tasha says:

    Just stopping by to share some Friday. Don’t forget to join in the current Read My Review which has a Worldwide theme (see the link at the top of my blog). Hope you have a great weekend!
    Tasha @ A Trillian Books xxx

  4. Lisa M says:

    Great choice! I never even thought of this answer but really should have. I am a new follower! Here is my answer; http://bookskidsanimalsandmore.blogspot.com/2011/03/follow-friday.html

  5. Howard Sherman says:

    My favorite book villain is, hands down, is the Napoleon of crime –
    Professor James Moriarty.

    It took me less than ten seconds to come up with my answer. But you’ll
    never guess why.

    Hop on over to my blog and find out — http://www.howardsherman.net

    Howard Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  6. Alison says:

    Hopping through. I should read more of the Margaret Weiss and Tracy Hickman books. I’ve only read one. I went to school with Mr. Hickman’s niece and he came and spoke to our class when I was in 6th grade. Very interesting man.
    My Hop

Leave a Reply

