Prometheus Award Finalists Announced

If you’re interested in such things, the Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the 2011 finalists for the Prometheus Award.

From the press release:

The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for the winners.

The Prometheus awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power–especially by the State.

The 2011 finalists are:
For the Win, by Cory Doctorow (TOR Books)
Darkship Thieves, by Sarah Hoyt (Baen Books)
The Last Trumpet Project, by Kevin MacArdry lasttrumpetproject.com
Live Free or Die, by John Ringo (Baen Books)
Ceres, by L. Neil Smith (Big Head Press, also published online at bigheadpress.com)

Have you read any of these? Would you recommend them? I have Darkship Thieves and For the Win on my list of books to read, and I’ve seen John Ringo talk at conventions a few times, and eventually plan on reading his work, too…but I am otherwise unfamiliar with this list. Any recommendations, you wider-read people out there?

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Prometheus Award Finalists Announced

  1. ~ap~ says:

    While I’ve long known that you’re more well-read than I, I felt the need to comment in order to tell you that no, I haven’t read any of these! I’ll look for your reviews on the ones on your to-read list to see if I think I might want to add them to mine. 😉

  2. Ben T-Gaidin says:

    Well, I’ve only read ‘For the Win’ myself, so I don’t have much of a recommendation… more of a warning, actually; be aware when picking up something by Ringo that while it definitely fits in the award category, he’s also heavily right-wing. (Of course, Doctorow’s pretty strongly liberal on the other hand, but not some much in the ‘demonizes his enemies’ mode that Ringo slips into at times.)

    • Jessica says:

      Yeah, I’ve gotten that impression of Ringo from the panels he’s been on at DragonCon and from what my step-dad has said (he looooooves Ringo). Truthfully, though I’m curious about his work and intend on reading it eventually, that heavy political slant is what’s kept me reading other people’s works before I get around to his.

  3. Will leFey says:

    Eh, I consider the Prometheus Award to be one of those awards that’s obviously given for ideology and not for quality of writing.

Leave a Reply

