Happy Birthday to Meeee! On a Pale Star’s 1st Blog Birthday. Now with giveaways!

On a Pale Star turns one this week, and in honor of my making it through the first year of blogging and reviewing, I’m hosting a giveaway.

There are three prizes:

One (1) trade paperback of Twilight Forever Rising by Lena Meydan (you can read my review here).

One (1) trade paperback of Dark and Stormy Knights, edited by P.N. Elrod (you can read the first part of my review here).

$20.00 US to spend at The Book Depository (with many thanks to Giraffe Days for inspiration for this prize).

Just comment below over the course of the next week (today, Monday 25 April 2011, through Monday 2 May 2011) and I’ll randomly pick the three winners. One prize per person. I’m feeling generous, so I’ll ship internationally.

In your comment, answer at least one of the following questions:

  • Have you learned about a book you otherwise wouldn’t have heard of through On a Pale Star (and what was it)?
  • What’s your favorite review here?
  • What book do you wish I’d go ahead and read (and review) already?
  • What can I improve here at On a Pale Star?

Thanks so much for reading! Good luck!

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in giveaway and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Happy Birthday to Meeee! On a Pale Star’s 1st Blog Birthday. Now with giveaways!

  1. Happy birthday (not entering the contest…I just wanted to give you well wishes)

  2. Jen D. says:

    Happy Blog Birthday Jess! Wishing you many more.

    Hmm…my favorite review was The Way of Shadows review you did back in January.

    Thank YOU for doing what you do. =)

  3. ~ap~ says:

    Yay! Happy Birthday to your blog!! The time, she flies… *nod*

    I think that ‘Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Sausages’ comes to mind when thinking of a book I read because of the good things you said about it. So thanks for that!

    I also really enjoyed your review of Regarding Ducks and Universes and have added it to my TBR list!

    Thanks for the giveaway, dah-link!

  4. Howard says:

    Happy birthday to you! πŸ™‚

    One of your very first blog posts was on Kant and the Platypus: Essays on Language and Cognition by Umberto Eco. It is on my TBR shelf.

    I read Foucault’s Pendulum years and years ago and remember what a headache it gave me – plus all the extra reading I had to do to understand it. πŸ™‚

    This one sounds like something I would enjoy reading when I have the time to get sidetracked by intellectual pursuits.

    Happy birthday, again! And thanks for some great reviews.

    H~

  5. Reyna - Nana says:

    I’m always hearing about new books from your reviews!

    Because you’re the best πŸ™‚ (Goes back to add the ‘ and the e)

    Reyna

  6. Blaise says:

    Oh Happy Birthday!!

    So way back in December I was gifted a bunch of books (and cookies!) by my wonderful Madness SS. Then I got a Kindle and forgot that regular books existed. However! Because of you, “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms” is now sitting next to my couch, out of the pile and next on my list. Hooray!

  7. Melissa T says:

    I have to agree with Blaise. I picked up NK Jemisin because of your recommendation. I finished The Broken Kingdoms this week and I think both books were fascinating and unique. And, of course, I’ve still got Kristin Cashore on my TBR shelf. πŸ™‚

    Happy Blog Birthday! I’m not sure my blog even HAS a birthday, it’s gone through so many changes over the years. πŸ˜€

  8. Joanna Schmidt says:

    Yay for celebrations!

    I bought (and read) Graceling simply because you pimped it out so much. And it was totally worth it! πŸ™‚

  9. spragujs says:

    Heh heh. Your reviews have probably caused me to add at least half a dozen books to my wishlist, but in the interest of answering one of your other questions; I wish you’d go ahead and review A Game of Thrones already. >:)

  10. lmcgeen says:

    Graceling was one of my favorites have not checked the book out yet but soon.

  11. Happy blog-birthday Jessica!
    I would LOVE it if you had a review index page – or maybe you do have one and I’m looking in the wrong place? I could have sworn it was your review of Across the Universe that inspired me to get a copy, but now I can’t find it and I’m not sure if it was you after all! I have a terrible memory for these things… πŸ™‚

    • Jessica says:

      A review index page–that’s an excellent suggestion! It’s something I’ve been noodling on for a little while now but haven’t implemented. Thank you for the suggestion/reminder!

      I don’t think Across the Universe was me. πŸ™‚ I haven’t read it yet, though it is on my tbr list.

  12. Jon says:

    Congratulations on your milestone achievement!

Leave a Reply

