The 2011 Hugo Awards were announced this weekend.

What are the Hugo Awards? A quick C&P from the Awards’ Web site: “The Hugo Awards, to give them their full title, are awards for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy. They were first awarded in 1953, and have been awarded every year since 1955. The awards are run by and voted on by fans.” If you want all the stats and voting numbers, check it out at the official Web site (link goes to a PDF).

For a summary (note that this isn’t all the categories, just the ones that interest me the most):

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Lev Grossman

Best Fanzine
The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon

Best Semiprozine
Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker

Best Graphic Story
Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright

Best Short Story
“For Want of a Nail” by Mary Robinette Kowal

Best Novelette
“The Emperor of Mars” by Allen Steele

Best Novella
The Lifecycle of Software Objects by Ted Chiang

Best Novel
Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis


About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Resources and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s