End of September wandering the blogosphere round up

New to me blog posts, articles, reviews, podcasts, and other items of spec fic & geeky interest, September 2011 edition–part the second.

Fatally Flawed: How to Write Tragic Heroes on Omnivoracious. “Tragic heroes are defined by their flaws, as are the stories you’ll tell with them, so you’ll want to pick your flaw carefully. A tragic hero’s flaw is almost always a “sexy” flaw–a flaw we can identify with, and don’t see as being all that bad. After all, being human and imperfect, chances are we share that flaw, and we’re not all that bad. It’s practically a virtue. It’s the hero’s “edge,” and it’s their downfall.”

In Defense of Geekery: Why Society Needs SF/F, from The Mary Sue. “For me, that interview was a validation. I have always known down in my marrow that the books and games I love are important, but hearing that story was the catalyst for me. I could finally point my finger at what I love so much about being a geek.”

Steampunk and the Architecture of Idealism, by David Brothers at Fantasy Magazine. “There is always conflict in stories, and there’s always a little guy to be stepped on, but a Steampunk story creates a world that is several orders of magnitude more utopian than those in any other genre out there. It almost has to be, considering that it suggests a world of highly advanced technology in a time parallel to or earlier than our own.”

Jeff VanderMeer talks about Shared Worlds: Next Gen SF/F Writers Working Hard For Their Dream on Omnivoracious. “Every summer for the past four years I’ve had the pleasure of heading to Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina, to help run the Shared Worlds SF/F teen writing camp, along with founder Jeremy L.C. Jones and summer camps director Timothy Schmitz.”

On OCD, Vampires, and Rants, oh my!:  Historical Accuracy. “Historical accuracy in fiction is an odd duck. It can be more time consuming than actually writing the book, for one thing, depending on the time period and the level of detail the writer is aiming for. And different readers have very different levels of tolerance for how much accuracy is required in the book they’re reading before it pulls them out of a story.”

Over at Magical Words: Audience. “So how do you figure out who your audience is? If you can pin down your genre, that is always a plus, but in this day and age of genre blending, that isn’t always the easiest thing to do.”

Maximizing Our Social Media Impact-Having the “Right” Friends, from Kristen Lamb. “We all need to strive for what I call The Sticky Author Triumvirate. It doesn’t matter if our message reaches a hundred million people. If our message doesn’t translate into action, it is wasted time.”

You Want to WHAT to My Shui? How Dare You by Big H By the Lake. “See – you can’t feng when you should have shui’d, and vice versa.  The balance is necessary to understand the jist of the story.  An outline can’t be created in a vacuum without creating characters, their back stories and intertwining them.”

Story Engineering–The Larry Brooks Interview by A. Victoria Mixon.

Cindy Pon addresses Diversity in Fantasy. “as a reader of color with a love
for fantasy, i never saw anyone like myself in any of my favorite books, much less on the cover.”

Cinda Williams Chima talks about Eurecentricity in Fantasty Fiction at Divesrity in YA Fiction. “Because I have lived my life in a Eurocentric part of the world, I make assumptions when I read. If a character is not identified otherwise, I tend to assume that the character looks like me. So when I include people of color (POC) in my stories, I feel compelled to let the reader know, lest they make the same assumptions that I do.”

From The Mary Sue: YA Publishing Industry De-Gays Books: What Are The Options? “I’m going to try to do this in a hurry, because if you pay attention at all to the publishing industry, then there’s absolutely nothing new or shocking about Rachel Manija Brown & Sherwood Smith’s revelation in Publisher’s Weekly that various editors and agents attempted to de-gay their Young Adult novel, followed by many similar confessions in the comments of that post–because you’ve just seen it all before. And after a while, you (okay, I) get tired of saying the same things over and over.”

About Jessica

Dork extraordinaire, that's me! An unhealthy knowledge of Star Trek, a love of books, a fondness for purring cats.
This entry was posted in Other People's Posts, Reader's Life, Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

